Vietnam signed visa exemption agreement with Lithuania

Visa exemption agreement between Vietnam and Lithuania

Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, Pham Binh Minh, and Minister of the Interior of Lithuania, Eimutis Misiunas, signed an agreement on visa exemptions for diplomatic passport holders from the two countries at a ceremony on January 23.

Vietnam and Lithuania sign visa exemption agreement

The visa exemption agreement for diplomatic passport holders between Vietnam and Lithuania is the 85th visa exemption agreement that Vietnam has signed with other countries to facilitate the bilateral exchange of delegations.

Vietnam also grants visa exemptions for flight crew members of 18 countries and territories on the principle of reciprocity.

In addition, Vietnam has unilaterally exempted visas for citizens of 13 countries, including Russia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Sweden, the UK, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, and Belarus, as well as to ASEAN Secretariat officials, in a bid to attract more international tourists.

At the ceremony, Deputy PM Pham Binh Minh and Minister Eimutis Misiunas also signed an agreement to resume the reception of citizens between the two countries.

Earlier in the meeting with the Lithuanian Interior Minister, Deputy PM Pham Binh Minh welcomed the Minister’s first visit to Vietnam, while valuing the results of the talks between Minister Eimutis Misiunas and Vietnamese Minister of Public Security To Lam, particularly in the field of crime prevention.

Minister Eimutis Misiunas expressed his pleasure at the positive development of the bilateral relationship based on mutual understanding and wished for more fruitful relations in the future.

The guest affirmed that Lithuania supports Vietnam to further strengthen its cooperation with the EU, especially in the fields of economics and trade.